California Department of Fish and Wildlife

North Central Coast Project and North Central Coast Regional Stakeholder Group

Map of North Central Coast Marine Protected Areas

Click the above map to view a printer-friendly version of the North Central Coast Study Region (Adobe Reader required)

Charter Adobe Reader required  |  Meeting Information  |  List of Members

The MLPA declares the need to reexamine and redesign California's MPAs to increase their coherence and effectiveness at protecting the state's marine life, habitat, and ecosystems. To help achieve this goal, the MLPA Initiative was created with an initial pilot project along the central coast of California. The second phase of the MLPA Initiative is focused on the north central coast, from Alder Creek in Mendocino County to Pigeon Point in San Mateo County.

Members of the North Central Coast Regional Stakeholder Group

November 19, 2007
  • Dirk Ammerman, Owner, Pacific Rim Seafoods
  • Tom Baty, independent sportfisher and conservationist (alternate for Craig Merrilees)
  • Ben Becker, Pacific Coast Science and Learning Center Director, Point Reyes National Seashore (alternate for Don Neubacher)
  • Bill Bernard, Member, Abalone Advisory Group
  • Bob Breen, educator
  • Richard Charter, Associate, Defenders of Wildlife Marine Program (alternate for Karen Garrison)
  • Christopher Chin, Executive Director, Center for Oceanic Awareness, Research and Education (alternate for Samantha Murray)
  • Josh Churchman, commercial fisherman
  • Neal Desai, National Parks Conservation Association (alternate for Frederick Smith)
  • Tom Estes, commercial fisherman (alternate for Michael McHenry)
  • Ellen Faurot-Daniels, Oil Spill Supervisor, California Coastal Commission
  • Dr. Henry C. Fastenau, Diving and Boating Safety Officer, Bodega Marine Laboratory, UC Davis
  • Karen Garrison, Co-Director, Natural Resources Defense Council Ocean Program
  • Aaron Golbus, Wharfinger, Port of San Francisco
  • Russ Herring, Secretary/Treasurer, Southern Pacific Sinkers Fish Club (alternate for Bill Bernard)
  • James Hobbs, recreational kayaker (alternate for Sean White)
  • Rick Johnson, docent and teacher (alternate for Bob Breen)
  • Ken Jones, President, United Pier and Shore Anglers of California
  • Francesca Koe, VP and Managing Director, Underground Ads
  • Patricia King, ocean conservationist and docent (alternate for Kellyx Nelson)
  • Irina Kogan, Resource Protection Specialist, Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary
  • Tom Mattusch, Owner, Hulicat Sportfishing (alternate for Jay Yokomizo)
  • Michael McHenry, commercial fisherman
  • John Mellor, commercial fisherman (alternate for Josh Churchman)
  • Craig Merrilees, educator and recreational fisherman
  • Dr. Lance E. Morgan, Chief Scientist, Marine Conservation Biology Institute (alternate for Dr. Henry Fastenau)
  • Samantha Murray, Ecosystem Program Manager, The Ocean Conservancy
  • Kellyx Nelson, Executive Director, San Mateo County Resource Conservation District
  • Don Neubacher, Point Reyes National Seashore Superintendent, National Park Service
  • Paul Pierce, Member, Coastside Fishing Club (alternate for Ben Sleeter)
  • Nelson Pinola, Chairman, Manchester-Point Arena Band of Pomo Indians
  • Karen Reyna, Resource Protection Specialist, Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary (alternate for Irina Kogan)
  • Santi Roberts, California Project Manager, Oceana
  • Phil Sanders, Member, California Abalone Association (alternate for Dirk Ammerman)
  • Dave Schaub, Natural Resources Program Manager, California Department of Parks and Recreation (alternate for Craig Swolgaard)
  • Ben Sleeter, Political Advocate/Scientist, Coastside Fishing Club
  • Craig Swolgaard, Natural Resources Program Manager, California Department of Parks and Recreation
  • Frederick Smith, Executive Director, Environmental Action Committee of West Marin
  • Ed Tavasieff, Owner, California Fresh Fish and Secretary, Pacific Fisheries Enhancement Foundation
  • Cassidy Teufel, Coastal Program Analyst, California Coastal Commission (alternate for Ellen Faurot-Daniels)
  • Nick Tipon, Member, Federated Indians of Graton Rancheria (alternate for Nelson Pinola)
  • Sean K. White, Owner, Great White Kayak Company and Fisheries Biologist, Sonoma County Water Agency
  • Robert J. Wilson, Policy Liaison, The Marine Mammal Center (alternate for Santi Roberts)
  • Dave Yarger, Past President, Fisherman's Marketing Association of Bodega Bay (alternate for Ed Tavasieff)
  • Jay Yokomizo, Captain, Emeryville Sportfishing