California Department of Fish and Wildlife

Resource Assessment Program

Assessment Projects

Projects by Biogeographic Region


Program Support

Documents (PDF)

Data and Maps

Post Fire Assessment

Resource Assessment Program
1812 9th Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 445-0411

Email the RAP Program

Aspen Delineation Project Data Center

Abstract

This California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) web site serves as a consolidated and centralized source of reference information dealing with location and assessment of aspen (Populus tremuloides) communities in California. The Data Center is part of the Aspen Delineation Project (ADP), a cooperative effort of the CDFW, the U.S. Forest Service's Pacific Southwest Region, and the California State Office of the Bureau of Land Management. This collaboration falls within the Aspen Delineation Project's goals and objectives to help public agencies, as well as, non-governmental organizations and, private landowners to identify, map, treat, and monitor aspen habitats. The goals objectives of this collaboration have been undertaken because of the ecological significance of aspen in California ecosystems.

Though this website, the general public and the advanced user (government agencies, GIS users, academic/research communities, etc) can access the Data Centers interactive data maps as well as the aspen data for each stand in California. The CDFW also makes the whole master aspen database available for download use.

Goals of Aspen Data Center Collaboration

Aspen Tree

In recognizing the importance of facilitating the collection, storage, display, use, and sharing of quaking aspen spatial data within and among the involved agencies and contributing private landowners, the CDFW's Resource Assessment Program (RAP) has worked in collaboration with the Aspen Delineation Project and other contributing agencies and organizations to:

  • Compile aspen location and assessment data statewide,
  • Assemble and make available a web application master database that will hold all California aspen assessment location information,
  • Create a user interactive web map of aspen locations,
  • Produce a report that presents, summarizes and illustrates our stand of knowledge about the location and assessment of aspen in California,
  • Assist in technical support in development of an integrated aspen data management system, and
  • Help develop an MOU between agencies and private land owners regarding future aspen data collection and sharing.

The efforts of this project have been coordinated between the Aspen Delineation Project's principal investigator-David Burton, and the California Department of Fish and Wildlife's (CDFW) Resource Assessment Program (RAP).

Aspen Delineation Project Homepage

Department of Fish & Wildlife Logo United States Forest Service Logo Bureau of Land Management Logo

Overview Map

Project Overview Map
Open BIOS Interactive Map

Project Stats

  • 1030 Aspen Delineation Program Protocol Assessments
  • 3222 Total Assessed Stands - Any Protocol
  • 4047 Polygons
  • 4448 Point Locations
  • (2006 data)

Documents

Title Description Link
Protocol Current Field Methodology for Assessing Aspen Stands. PDF
Field Form Printable field form for data collection following the Aspen Delineation Project protocols. PDF

Contributors

Klamath National Forest Christy Cheyne cacheyne@fs.fed.us
Shasta-Trinity National Forest Peter Van Susteren pvansusteren@fs.fed.us
Modoc National Forest Anne Mileck amileck@fs.fed.us
Alturas Field Office (BLM) Paul Schmidt pschmidt@blm.gov
Cedarville Field Office (BLM) Leisyka Parrott lparrott@ca.blm.gov
Eagle Lake Field Office (BLM) Don Dockery Don_Dockery@ca.blm.gov
Lassen National Forest Tom Rickman trickman@fs.fed.us
Tahoe National Forest Tina Mark tmark@fs.fed.us
Lake Tahoe Basin Managent Unit Victor Lyon vlyon@fs.fed.us
Eldorado National Forest Don Yasuda dyasuda@fs.fed.us
Stanislaus National Forest Adam Rich arich@fs.fed.us
Humboldt-Toiyabe in General Julia Richardson Jhrichardson@fs.fed.us
Sierra Division of California State Parks Tamara Sawinski tsasaki@parks.ca.gov
Bishop Field Office (BLM) Anne Halford ahalford@ca.blm.gov
Inyo National Forest Kathleen Nelson kgnelson01@fs.fed.us
Sequoia National Forest Steve Anderson swanderson@fs.fed.us

Contacts

David Burton
Aspen Delineation Project
P.O. Box 348
Penryn, CA 95663

Phone: 916.663.2574
peregrines@prodigy.net

Chris Stermer
California Department of Fish & Wildlife
1812 Ninth St.
Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: 916.445.2626
cstermer@dfg.ca.gov