California Department of Fish and Wildlife

California Hunter Education Program

Bow Hunting Classes

Comprehensive classes for bow hunters are available through the International Bow hunter Education Program.

These classes fulfill the requirements states other than California may mandate when individuals want to do any out of state archery hunting.

Please note that this class is separate from and is not required and does not apply to receiving your hunter safety certificate.

www.nbef.org has educational materials including the student manual and a distance learning course available on-line. If you are thinking of taking the online course or have taken the distance learning course and need a Field Day to complete the course work to receive your certificate, contact one of the individuals below.

County City Date Location Contact Additional Information
Butte Paradise 6/27-28 6049 Sawmill Road Joe or Joan Becker
(530) 877-7438
8am-4pm both days. Class fee $10. Checks made our to CA.IBEP. Mail registration fees to Joe Becker, 6049 Sawmill Road, Paradise, CA 95969. Prepaid registration required by June 18th. Click here for class flyer(PDF)
Fresno Clovis As needed Impact Archery Jim Dubois
(916) 284-2072
 
Glenn       Wilda Sealy
(530) 265-3786
 
Kings   Call for classes   Eric Virden
(559-582-4263
On-line follow up class
Mendocino Ukiah 4/18-19 Ukiah Gun Club
2300 Vichy Springs Rd
John Holder
(707) 489-3380
Mike Whetzel
(707) 972-4972
Pre-registration required. Class fee $20. Class hours 8am-3pm. Classroom first day, field day second day.
Mendocino Ukiah 5/16-17 Ukiah Gun Club
2300 Vichy Springs Rd
John Holder
(707) 489-3380
Mike Whetzel
(707) 972-4972
Pre-registration required. Class fee $20. Class hours 8am-3pm. Classroom first day, field day second day.
Merced Merced 6/28 10260 Grove Rd Mark Akers
(209) 628-8099
Class hours 8am-1pm. Class fee $15. Pre-registration required. On-line course completion with certificate required.
San Bernardino Chino 2/28 and 3/1 Oranco Bowmen Archery club Chriss Bowles
(951) 757-4571
class check in starts at 6:30am and class starts at 7am both days.
San Bernardino Chino 4/25-26 Oranco Bowmen Archery club Chriss Bowles
(951) 757-4571
class check in starts at 6:30am and class starts at 7am both days.
San Bernardino Chino 7/18-19 Oranco Bowmen Archery club Chriss Bowles
(951) 757-4571
class check in starts at 6:30am and class starts at 7am both days.
San Bernardino Chino 10/24-25 Oranco Bowmen Archery club Chriss Bowles
(951) 757-4571
class check in starts at 6:30am and class starts at 7am both days.
San Bernardino Victorville 1/17-18 Apple Valley Gun Club Lyle Drenth
(760) 885-5114
Class fee $25 regardless if attending both days or one day. First day is class room, online course available in lieu of classroom day. Second day is field day. Class hours 9am-5pm both days. Pre-registration required. Visit website for more information Apple Valley Gun Club
San Bernardino Victorville 2/21-22 Apple Valley Gun Club Lyle Drenth
(760) 885-5114
Class fee $25 regardless if attending both days or one day. First day is class room, online course available in lieu of classroom day. Second day is field day. Class hours 9am-5pm both days. Pre-registration required. Visit website for more information Apple Valley Gun Club
San Bernardino Victorville 3/21-22 Apple Valley Gun Club Lyle Drenth
(760) 885-5114
Class fee $25 regardless if attending both days or one day. First day is class room, online course available in lieu of classroom day. Second day is field day. Class hours 9am-5pm both days. Pre-registration required. Visit website for more information Apple Valley Gun Club
San Bernardino Victorville 4/18-19 Apple Valley Gun Club Lyle Drenth
(760) 885-5114
Class fee $25 regardless if attending both days or one day. First day is class room, online course available in lieu of classroom day. Second day is field day. Class hours 9am-5pm both days. Pre-registration required. Visit website for more information Apple Valley Gun Club
San Bernardino Victorville 5/16-17 Apple Valley Gun Club Lyle Drenth
(760) 885-5114
Class fee $25 regardless if attending both days or one day. First day is class room, online course available in lieu of classroom day. Second day is field day. Class hours 9am-5pm both days. Pre-registration required. Visit website for more information Apple Valley Gun Club
San Diego Descanso call for dates   Doug or Michelle McClanahan
(619) 445-2305
(619) 445-2107
Check website for class information.
San Diego Escondido 1/10 Escondido Fish and Wildlife Range Frank Alessio
(760) 743-8718
 
San Diego Escondido 5/10 Escondido Fish and Wildlife Range Frank Alessio
(760) 743-8718
 
San Diego Escondido 8/9 Escondido Fish and Wildlife Range Frank Alessio
(760) 743-8718
 
San Diego Escondido 11/14 Escondido Fish and Wildlife Range Frank Alessio
(760) 743-8718
 
San Diego Santee Classes held quarterly   Jeff Simonides
(619) 200-5236
www.sdhunterdafety.com
San Mateo Pacifica Call for dates SF Archers Jim Langell
(650) 392-5128
Must pre-register. Online class
Tulare   Call for classes   Eric Virden
(559-582-4263
On-line follow up class

 

 

This agency receives federal funds. Under federal law, discrimination is prohibited on the basis of race, color, age, sex, national origin, disability, etc.. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity or facility of this agency, contact the Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission at www.eeoc.gov, or the U.S. Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington, DC, 20240.